What would YOU do in this situation?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Lozler, Jul 9, 2011.

1. Lozler

Lozler Bit Poster

Hi guys!

I've recently joined here, and for those who don't know anything about me:

Work full time as an Aircraft Dispatcher presently (1 year 2010-2011)
    Worked in passenger handling within aviation (2 years (2008 - 2010)
    A few web design projects in HTML but probably won't be able to do that now (2007 - 2008 )
    CompTIA A+ Certified in July 2011 (Started self study in March)
    Going after my Network+ for the end of this month

So as you can see, I have no real experience within IT :biggrin However, I'm trying my best to self study and get my self certified to increase my worth in the IT field, and to gain more knowledge.

My ambitions are to get a good job in IT in which I will enjoy, and that the employer will train me and send me on as much training as possible. I'd like ideally to stay with one company, or at least stay a couple of years.

I have the option of going to University this year to study Computer Science which seems like a good degree to have, and the stuff you learn seems interesting. It seems like everything is heading towards degrees and graduate roles now, and I see a lot of the bigger companies wanting a degree on application which is another reason I wanted to get a degree.

My company at the moment MIGHT make an extremely small IT department at some point consisting of less than 4 people, and if so, my boss said that I could get some experience doing that, but for right now he doesn't know. No training or support in terms of certification will be provided i don't think.

The IT company of the airport is advertising a 1st line / 2nd line suport role for 15-18k and i know most of the guys so I think I could get an interview for this job too. I'm not sure if they provide support for additional certifications.