What to do

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Chopperchand, Aug 16, 2010.

1. Chopperchand

Chopperchand Nibble Poster

Hi all,

Just wanted some advise, My company over the next month or so are upgrading to Server 2008, We have just started buying windows 7 PC and laptop. I am working towards get an MCSA 2003.

I started studying for the 70-290 exam as have had abit more freedom on using our 2003 servers at work. and have wanted to move into Systems admin (I don't think they will give me that much freedom, which is abit :( as it is something I want to move into).

especially as most advise that cert + experience is better then cert only (which I agree 110%, as doing the theory is alot more fun then just reading it). it is the experience bit that has held me back from going for the MCSA,

I am going to carry on with the 2003 track (I hope MS don't retire it soon!!). but have two questions

1. Should I do 70-680 (win 7) in place of the 70-270 (XP) as this will give me exposure to windows 7 as I will be supporting it more and more over the next few weeks.

2. What book would you recommend as an intro to Server 2008 (can live in hope that I might be involved in the deploy process :) ) or should I get one of the exam books? if so which one?

This is just so that I can get a step ahead when we actually go live. :biggrin

Thanks.

WIP: MCSA Sql Server 2012
  2. ianconscious

ianconscious Bit Poster

I can recommend this book as an intro to Server 2008. As well as full coverage of the new technologies it also goes into a lot of detail on "traditional" windows server stuff (AD, DNS, DHCP, et al) which will help you with your Server 2003 studies. It is not a focussed exam prep book.