What skills or certs got you your job?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by mattwest, Apr 6, 2004.

1. mattwest

mattwest Megabyte Poster

Hi everyone...

I'm interested in starting a discussion on what skills, certs or qualifications got you your job in IT?

What skills etc do you think will be good for the future or will help you land that job?

This is what i feel got me my job:

A couple of years IT experience, both part and full time.

A broad range of certs, self taught showing a passion for IT.

A career history that didnt involve lots of job "swapping" showing commitment.

Good interpersonnal skills.

I also feel that in the future business skills such as project management and general business knowledge (terminology etc) will help us IT pro's do well.

I dont think there is a particular cert i feel would really give me an edge in the market (with the excpetions of really high end certs) but a broad range is good.

What are your thoughts?

Does anyone feel MS certs are "a dime a dozen?" these days?

Just interested in starting a bit of a debate and thought this topic might be useful for those new to IT.

Matt

:)

Certifications: See my signature...
    WIP: Maybe re-certify my CCNA
  2. mattwest

mattwest Megabyte Poster

In relation to the above, here is an interesting article.

Link

It suggests 25% of IT jobs could be outsourced by 2010 and those with IT AND business skills will be the ones to survive.....

Matt

(25% - Scary!)

:?

Moderator Note SimonV: Shortened link to remove horizontal scroll

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2015
  3. Phil
    Honorary Member

Phil Gigabyte Poster