What should i do?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by autopilot, May 31, 2007.

1. autopilot

autopilot New Member

Hi there,

I need a little advice, and this place seems the place to get it :biggrin

Basically, this is my story; I’m 29 now and after leaving school I got a BTEC National Diploma in computing. I then went to Leeds and got a HND in computing, which I flew though with flying colours. After my HND I was offered a place on the second year of the degree. However, due to family issues I had to ditch that and move back to Shropshire.
    On return to Shropshire I had problems finding a job in IT and ended up doing social work because I needed work quickly. I became a team leader and ended up being there for 4 long years. Eventually, through a random set of circumstances, I bought a business franchisee repairing windscreens. I made good money last year, but this year is much slower and I am dying to get back in IT and I know I would be very good at it.

Although I have not worked in IT for the last 6 years, I am very IT minded and have kept a keen interest. That’s where my heart is. And this week I found out that I am to be a dad soon :eek: so I really need to get my act together.

Today I was chatting to a customer who turned out to be the wife of one of the Cerco Training directors. He popped down in his jag and talked me through things a bit and it all sound rather excellent, in fact almost too good to be true for just 4 weeks training. So I did a bit of googling, found this place, and after a bit of reading think that Cerco could be a big mistake. £5000 does seem a lot of money for a non-industry standard cert.

Soooo….. my question to you guys is, if you were me what would you do? Where should I start?

Thanks for taking the time to read this,

Dom :thumbleft

2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi and welcome to CF Dom.