What part of your role is strenuous?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by onoski, Jan 30, 2008.

1. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

I for one fortunately have been working in IT for the past four and half years now started on helpdesk 1st line support.

At present I work as an IT infrastructure 2nd line support engineer covering desktop, laptop, PDA's and server support issues on a daily basis including administering AD 2000. This all encompasses administering user accounts, permissions, e-mails and department folder access and the lists goes on if I tell you about our Citrix farm and BlackBerry servers.

To be honest I love my job as I count myself as fortunate have a job in IT something I cherish as I also love computers. Well love my wife more, enough of all the goodies.

At work lately we have been receiving a lot of new HP Compaq DC7800 SFF desktops and we have to carry I mean literally hundreds off these boxes into the secure storage room including 17 inch flat screen monitors.

We also have to lift up Dell PowerEdge servers and PowerVaults onto the rack, trapped my finger once luckily weren't serious but was a wake up call. On the other hand the killers are the Power Supply Units even with a two man assistance is still tasking and we use auto aids - i.e. jack up type trolleys but still:)

This am sure as you probably might have figured out can be strenuous and if you're not careful end up hurting your back or even injuring yourself if fallen over. Again, must say it helps to break a sweat sometimes so most of those staff who think all you do is browse the Internet can learn no so really - hopefully.

Apart from this tasking aspect of the job everything else is sweet as we recently started configuring and setting up BlackBerry Pearl 8100 device handsets, its a bit fiddly with the buttons especially if you have big fingers:)

So what are some of your strenuous parts of your job role in your current IT position. Thanks in advance for sharing:)