What now?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Leehaa, Nov 29, 2010.

1. Leehaa

Leehaa Gigabyte Poster

Hello,

I've been in my current role for two years now. I really liked it for the first year, but over the last year was put mainly on project work.

Unfortunately there've been issues implementing one of the systems involved in the project work. I even got someone else to rebuild it, but the issues came back (so issue with the environment rather than engineer :)).

Current projects are nearly all finished, and I want a change rather than continuing down that route.

I want to go back to doing maintenance stuff (the others in the team do more general server maintenance/admin, which I LOVE doing. I am an admin also, but with the projects, haven't had time to much )

An opportunity has popped up for a more senior position doing the maintenance-type stuff, and i've discussed it with my manager who advised that I am mostly ready but there are a couple of weak points that I would need to argue my case for.

One of these is to do with time management - this is where I'm stuck. Because i've spent so much time on these projects...which have run way over due to the issues, my time management looks awful.

Any advice on how to go about presenting a "professional" case that would help better iron out this weak area?

...also, wondering if it's time to start looking at what's available externally...

Cheers,
    Lee

Certifications: MCP, MCDST, ITIL v3, MBCS, others...
    WIP: BSc IT & Computing, RHCE
  2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Hi Leehaa,

I kind of went through the same scenario as you're going through now, only I was desktop support tech going to a network admin position. When I noticed the position was available I went a head and asked my boss what is it I need to do to get the job. After a long conversation it came down to me having to prove myself.