What fascinates you?

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by Arroryn, Oct 7, 2009.

1. Arroryn

Arroryn we're all dooooooomed Moderator

Okay, we've had what annoys you, and what you like... so how about what fascinates you? Anything you strongly desire to know more about, if only you had the time?

I have a few things that fascinate me, and I'm really not clever enough to even vaguely do them all justice. But they are fascinating, nevertheless :)

Languages - most peeps on here probably know I'm obsessed with language, but it's not just the English language - it's language in general. I especially love etymology. That probably stems from when I started learning Latin, alongside German and French. It's fascinating to track the derivation of a word, and see its similarities in languages borne in countries that are sometimes thousands of miles apart.

Physics - now I'm really not clever enough to grasp this, but I would love to be able to one day :oops: I keep revisiting a book called "Parallel Worlds" by Michio Kaku, and it's one of the few books I've ever had to read with a dictionary handy at all times. I have quite a few different books on quantum theory, as well as general science. One day...... :biggrin

People. I'm a 'watcher' - can't help it. If I'm ever in a public place on my own, I've got to sit in the seat with the biggest and best view, so I can watch the world and figure out how people 'work'. Body language especially fascinates me. My closest friends are bugged by it, because I can pick up on the tiniest things now by their bodily reactions which are, unfortunately for them, largely involuntary. For example, I have one friend who blushes ever so slightly when they lie. It also allows you to read people really well, so that you can pick up a lot on character even after a relatively brief conversation.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, 70-410, 70-411
    WIP: Modern Languages BA
  2. BosonMichael