What Certificate for me?

Discussion in 'MCAD / MCSD / MCPD' started by sugarflux, Dec 5, 2007.

1. sugarflux

sugarflux New Member

Hi all
    New member here. I'm hoping someone might be able to offer some advice

I've been programming for about 8 years now - all (or 95%) self taught. I've mainly used VBA however in recent years have only used VBA simply as an interface but the majority of my programs utilising the Windows API calls and working in Class Modules so i feel pretty confident with regards to OOP. The greatest gap in my experience has always been that i havn't really had the opportunity to gain work in VS and now, of course, .Net.

In the last year or two i've transferred a lot of my skills to writing HTML, Javascript, ASP/VBScript and MS SQL Server and last year i took up learning SAS (and Oracle based SQL) which i picked up within a couple of months.

I want to transfer my skills to learn .NET and now have the opportunity to do this in my current role - partly funded by my employer. Instead of simply spending a week in a classroom i want to gain a certificate. I'm determined to see it through and sure i can pick up most languages and new concepts pretty quickly. Ideally i would be looking at an MCSD or MCAD but i'm concerned that the requirements for both of these courses state that i should have already been working with .NET for at least a year.

Do i need to work with .NET for a year before attempting one of these certificates or can i learn as i go along?

Is there a different certificate that i should pass first?

I'm based in Brighton - does anyone know of any places nearby where i could start studying (Ideally towards a certificate instead of just a training course)?

Any advice much appreciated

Thanks
    sugarflux

2. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

Hello Sugarflux & welcome to CF:biggrin