website lacking search function and advertisers

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by mallet, Sep 9, 2007.

1. mallet

mallet Kilobyte Poster

I got a website currently in the making, its a video games reviews site that I will reviews games before they get release.

Iam still gathering information on any special requirements
    that I need if I wanted to obtain game copys before
    its release or the legitimately of asking for copys of
    the games before it gets release.

Its not live yet as Iam doing some reviews on some not so old games. Plus I just nearly completed the HTML.

But I am lacking some stuff on my website.

First, I dont know how I would setup a search function. As times goes by, the website will be fillled with reviews. And to make things worse, I am a complete novice on the HTML side.

Secondly, my website will be paid by the month and I did some research on some online advert companys.
    I got a good response from a Uk company called accelerators: http://www.accelerator-media.com/publishers.html

However, my site will have over 12+ rated games and there policy is to have family content on the ads. They said they look into that, and call me back.

If anyone knows any online advertises that would do a good range of both family and over 12+ adverts, that would be helpful.

-mallet

Certifications: MCP
  2. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

I don't have any advice on ads, but as far as search functions go have you taken a look at Zope/Plone for putting your website together with? It has a lot of functionality built into, is very good at scaling out, and is multi-platform as it is built using Python.

I've been playing with it a little lately and I like it much better than the php implementations such as the software this site is put together with. Python is also much more secure, by nature, than php is.

Certifications: MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, A+
    WIP: LPIC 1
  3. ThomasMc

ThomasMc Gigabyte Poster