Wanting to gain Certification

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by THXbob, Sep 25, 2007.

1. THXbob

THXbob Bit Poster

Hello all

Usuall introduction, I'm an IT Technician with no IT certification apart from a Computing Science Diploma from Stafford Uni and an old CNA (Certified Novell Admin) from NetWare 4.1!

I help to look after Novell NetWare network, 5.1 for file sharing print, GroupWise 5.5 for email and MS 2003 Server used for Terminal Server/MS 2000 Server running SQL. Our company has aprox. 70 pc's with Windows 98 and XP.

As I've sat on my arse for too long, I want to get back into studying so I've signed up tonight!

I want to do my MCSA then MCSE, but would it be benefical to start Comptia A+, Network+ first by doing self study? My boss the Finance Director wants me to start too so I don't see a problem in fees etc.

Thats enough of me, and many thanks to all your advice and help.

Bob

WIP: CompTIA A+ and Network+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

As your already a time served tech I dont thin the A+ would be beneficial to you although it may help and if youre going to do the MSCA then A+ could help as the A+ and N+ count as two electives for the MSCA.

Welcome to the forums

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Alex Wright

Alex Wright Megabyte Poster

Hi THXbob,

I'm afraid that I'm going to have to disagree with GBL. I think that you should definately start with the A+ and N+. As an experienced tech these two certs shouldn't take you too long to aquire, I would think 3 months MAX. These certifications are now a prerequisite to work for some middle and large size companies.

After passing those two certs I suggest that you move onto the MCSA followed by the MCSE.

All of these certs can be achieved through self-study. Our learned friend BosonMichael is proof of that (check out his signature the next time you read one of his posts!).