Wanting a career in IT

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Doc_Flash, Oct 10, 2013.

1. Doc_Flash

Doc_Flash New Member

Hi everyone,

First off, I'm new here, so hello!
    I have a question or two I'd like to ask about certifications. I'm looking to change career's, currently I'm a Technical Operator in food production. I guess I should also mention I'm 33 yrs old.
    I have always had a passion for technology and computers, I've built and maintained my own systems at home along with helping friends and family out with some problems etc.
    I would like to get into the networking side of things - network engineer? (eventually) but as I'm just starting out would like to ask where is best to start?
    A couple of people I have spoke to suggest that I should start off with Windows 7 (MCSA) and then move onto the Server 2008, to be able to get my 'foot in the door' and find work at a help desk role then move into the networking side of things once I have some experience. I've also been told by some to do the Comptia network+ but then I've seen on forums some people say to skip that and go the CCENT route. Still, others have suggested going straight for the network+ followed by the Cisco certs and to ignore the Windows/Server certs.
    I would like to ask you guys & girls which route would you recommended to go. In your option which would allow me to find work more easier?
    Also I live in the U.K. and just want to ask if the Comptia certs are recognized here, I mean I know they are but are they worth it over here, they seem to be more popular in the States and I'm wondering if employers recognize them over here, I know they are entry level - so in my opinion I feel they would be good but if no one knows them here, is there a point in getting them?
    Sorry for the long post and thank you all in advance, any help/guidance or other suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

2. ad

ad Bit Poster

Hello and welcome to Certforums.