want a career in it .am very new....please help with any advice

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Georgiesickjitz, Jan 4, 2009.

1. Georgiesickjitz

Georgiesickjitz Byte Poster

Hello people.basically i want to get into a career of I.t.i currently work as a carpenter.i guess i will have to start at the bottom of the ladder.{help desk ect}also any ideas or advice on a career path would be cool.

Im contemplating taking a crash course in a relevent topic to help me on my way in the I.T world.as teaching my self wouldnt really pay.

mcp ?can i take a crash course in this with no experience?

comptia?is it a suitable or goodish qualification.please help,any information would be fantastic.

Have u any good sites for relevant study books,courses,cd rom's ect

Pplease help:rolleyes:

Certifications: CompTIA A+,CompTIA Network
    WIP: CCNA
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Eh, teaching yourself wouldnt pay?

Remember a crash course costs ££££.

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. Georgiesickjitz

basically i have a full time job at the moment and a family,so it would be a distraction .if i go to a centre for x amount of days.i live and breath the subject

4. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Don't forget that that will cost money - and you will also lose money by being off work.

Some of the courses can be quite expensive.

Some would argue that the discipline of sitting down in a spare room (if you have one :biggrin ) and studying and keeping distractions to a minimum by keeping the door closed, is a benefit.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  5. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I have replied in your original intro thread, take a look.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?