Vmware ESX 3.5 and VM memory

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by NWD, Oct 5, 2008.

1. NWD

NWD Bit Poster

Quick question for you all..

Currently studying for the VCP 310 exam for version 3.5 and i'm getting a bit confused with ESX memory, I currently use ESX 3.02 at work and I can allocate a maximum of 16gb of memory to a VM, VMWare config maximums says you can allocate a maximum of 64gb to a VM. Is this a new limit in ESX 3.5 or am i getting things muddled up.

Plan is to upgrade to ESX 3.5 in the near future, when I eventually get round to it...

Certifications: MCSE, VCP
    WIP: 70-649
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

I am no VMware expert, but found this, not sure if it help you or not.

I guess if you don't get an answer here by the time when you do the required course for the exam, you'll be able to find out then :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. Gomjaba

Gomjaba Bit Poster

Indeed .. the VM Limit in ESX 3.0 is 16GB and in 3.5 its 64 GB ...

ESX 3.0 Maximums
    ESX 3.5 Maximums

Make sure you study all the PDFs available ..

Certifications: VCP, MCITP:SA, MCITP:EA
    WIP: MCITP: Database Admin
  4. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Exam confidentiality really means nothing to you, does it? :rolleyes:

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  5. Gomjaba

Gomjaba Bit Poster

To be fair .. this is not a secret that you need to study all PDFs in order to pass the exam and not just maximums ..