VM ware and MCSE

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by spuddy, Dec 22, 2006.

1. spuddy

spuddy New Member

Guys,

My first post so i will start with a HI! Ive worked in IT for the last few years, doing various Helpdesk roles and a bit of desktop support, so im no newbie but at the same time not an IT guru.

I work in London but live up north, and want to do the MCSE self study(save the pounds), because of travelling between the two locations often, it would make it hard for me to have a physical lab and keep moving boxes about all time.

So i have a couple of questions.

1) If i buy a top spec laptop, would it be possible to do my MCSE using VM ware and have all if not most of the benifits of a real lab.

2) Ive looked at a couple of labs on here and am i right in reading that these are done on one PC.

3) Is there any VM guru's who could help me set my lab up if i run into problems.

Many thanks

Jon

2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

Hi Jon and welcome to CF! :biggrin

1.You talking about running many many virtual machines so you going to need at least 100GB+ of HDD space and atleat 1GB+ of RAM if you going to be running that many machines at once when you reach exams further down so in other words i wont recommend using a laptop in this situation.

2. Yes lots of labs and scenarios can be done in a VMWare enviroment. The problem like i discovered is that NOT ALL can be done. For example in exam 70-291 you cant see how a DHCP Relay agent works.

3. Yeah i reckon we got some gurus inluding the Sir Ryan aka Phoenix...

hope this helps...

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi Spuddy,

Welcome to the forum.

I did buy more RAM for my laptop for this same purpose, but don't really use it as much as I planned because I am lucky enough to have a test domain at home.