Virtual Lab Advice

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by eurorocker, Jul 22, 2010.

1. eurorocker

eurorocker New Member

Hi All,

Just some advice wanted regarding setting up a virtual lab for the 70-685 exam.

I have 2 books, the MS Press book - MCITP Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-685): Windows 7 Enterprise Desktop Support Technician which suggests using Oracle Virtual Box with Server 2008r2 and windows 7, and the Sybex one - Windows 7 Desktop Support and Administration: Real World Skills for MCITP Certification and Beyond (Exams 70-685 and 70-686) which calls for Windows VPC with Windows server 2008 and windows 7.

I don't have a problem with the software as I have a technet subscription and have downloaded the evaluation editions.

I will be running the lab on my laptop, AMDv enabled, W7 ultimate 64 bit 8 gig ram, lots of hard drive space.

Is there much difference between W2K8 and W2K8r2?

Which visualization package would people recommend?

Many Thanks

Tony

Certifications: A+, N+, MCSA 2003, MCTS (70-680). MCDST
    WIP: MCITP:EDST(70-685) :EDA(70-686)
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

There is a few differences between 2k8 and 2k8 r2, see here. Plus alot of applications that worked on 2k8 AD failed when the domain/forest was upgraded to the 2k8 r2 schema.

However it's not different enough to have it's own Server Admin or Enterprise Admin track of certifications.

Depends, I like both VMWare Workstation and Virtual PC for virtulisation on the client PC. For organisation virtualisation, I like and use Hyper-V (v2).

-Ken

Last edited: Jul 22, 2010
    Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster