USB 2.0 to IDE Adapter & Virtual machine question

Discussion in 'A+' started by tysfoot, Mar 25, 2009.

1. tysfoot

tysfoot Byte Poster

Hi,

I posted this thread on virtual computing forum but havent got any replys as yet and i know you guys in here are helpfull.

Im studying for my A+ and have an external Hard drive with preinstalled windows xp professional and want to use that os to use a a virtual machine on m laptop whilst studying

ive seen on the market a "USB 2.0 to IDE or Serial-ATA Drive Adapter". is this what i need to set xp as a vm on my laptop, is there anything else i need or any other steps to complete t make this work

Thanks

Certifications: A+
    WIP: MCDST, N+
  2. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

You've not really grasped the idea of virtual computing. The easiest method of you doing what you want to achieve is by installing VMWare Server/Workstation on your PC, then running VMWare Converter to convert the installation on your external hard drive to a VM, then importing it into VMWare Server/Workstation. Failing that, after setting up VMWare Server/Workstation, create a new virtual machine from scratch.

Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em
  3. Gingerdave

Gingerdave Megabyte Poster

Firstly was there any need for two threads on this?

All the ide/sata to usb converters do is make internal hard drives (ie ones without enclosures) usable via usb. IF that drive has data there already then you can access that through the OS, however you couldn't make a new virtual machine and point it at that data and say use that as far as I am aware.

Virtual machines are generally built in stages one of which is the install of the OS for that machine.

Sorry I can't be of more help.

Certifications: A+,MCP, MCDST, VCP5 /VCP-DV 5, MCTS AD+ Net Inf 2008, MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  4. tysfoot

tysfoot Byte Poster