Unfair meeting hours?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by toppo, Aug 14, 2014.

1. toppo

toppo New Member

Hi all,

I have been working at my current company in London for 4 years, I got a transfer to an Asia-Pacific office and a promotion to senior tech support. All sounds very good until my London manager wants to me join his monthly meetings (every last Friday - Payday) for an hour or so. The problem is that I am 8 hours ahead of London and he still expects me to join his meetings via conference. I will be reporting to my IT manager in Asia but London manager wants me to be in meetings at my 10pm just because I am now "senior".

Has anybody been in this position before? Does a manager have any right in demanding an employee to be conferencing in to his meetings at 10pm??

I would love to know your opinions on this one.

Cheers!

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Promotion = increase of responsibility in role.

One of my mates, because he is in a more senior position than before, now doesn't get paid overtime.

Me, one of the biggest changes to my contract was that my notice period increased from 1 month to 3, plus I do not get paid overtime.

Now I don't know what your contract actually states, but if that is expected of the role and is included as part of the T&C that you agreed to when accepting the promotion (knowing that you are working for an international company). You may not have a say in the matter (unless you want to return to your previous position). You could have a word with the manager to try to come to some sort of agreement (eg attending two out of 4 meetings a month), but considering that a lot of other large international and national companies would normally operate some sort of 24h shift pattern and expect their staff to work that, I'm not sure that an hour a month is a lot to ask for.