Unemployed Diogenes from Belgium's introduction

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Unemployed Diogenes, Mar 4, 2008.

1. Unemployed Diogenes

Unemployed Diogenes Nibble Poster

Hello everyone, I start just studying for the MCDST certification. I'm 35 and I wonder if I'm the oldest poster here who never works in IT before??

I was postman and had to stop work because of a problem with my back :x So now I'm unemployed and I go to try to find a job in IT. The last 3 years I studied evening shool and gets in juni a bachelor degree IT networking.

Recent I start also studying the Microsoft 70-271 exam with the training kit from MS. I read half the book now and did yesterday a transcender test. I got 55%, so that's not good but I'm sure I gonna get it!!

Thing I'm a little affraid of is that corporations not gonna give me an entry-job cause I'm 35 years old. But I gonna give myself half a year to search a job as desktop support technician and study at home in that time...

Follow weeks you can see me posting in the MCDST section for questions I think.

Sorry for my English also, my native language is dutch and I don't speak often English. I remark my English skills increasing by reading the Microsoft book. Now I installed also my OS and Applications in English language.

So that's it for today :)

Certifications: A+, Bachelor IT
    WIP: CCNA
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome

Do not worry about your age there are plenty of people on this forum who are 20 years your senior and havent been working in IT long. So thats not a problem

Have you considered doing the compTIA A+ and N+ before the MCDST as they will give you agood grounding for it.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Unemployed Diogenes

I decided to start immediately with MCDST because I did almost have a Bachelor degree IT-networking and that study covers the A+ en N+.