Ubuntu install

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by Rostros22, Nov 13, 2005.

1. Rostros22

Rostros22 Kilobyte Poster

Hello all

I am having trouble installing Ubuntu on my machine. The machine already has windows 2000 installed on one partition and I have left a second partition on the disc free for the install (10gb disc – 5gb NTFS for windows – 4gb for Ubuntu + swap file).

Went through the install and everything seems to be ok, installs fine as far as I am aware (this is my first attempt). Once the install is finished I boot up and I can see the Ubuntu install and the win2k install on the boot up menu. When I select Ubuntu it begins to run through the boot up procedure and then hangs.

I have tried the install 3 times now and I have downloaded the iso file again and created a new cd in case it was that but still no joy.

I have ran the recovery mode so I can see exactly what is happening and it only fails on updating the time which I expected seeing as the machine is not connected to the internet.

Is there something simple that I am not doing?

Any thoughts are welcome!

Certifications: ITIL Certs, F.A.S.T Auditor Certs
    WIP: None - Application with Police
  2. arisen

arisen Byte Poster

how long are you giving it when it hangs before rebooting?

It sounds to me like it's hanging on a network dependent service start up, it would be good to disable this service and try again, sometimes with my fedora core 4 install i get hang on boot but after waiting 5 minutes or so it'll skip that service and startup, then i can disable the service that hung.

Did you do a checksum on your iso download/s? And burn the disc using lowest speed? hmmmm, i'm sure the linux experts here will help you out dude

Edit: how about trying a selective/interactive startup?

Certifications: BEng, PRINCE2, ITIL, Net+
    WIP: MSc, Linux+ 2009, RHCE
  3. Rostros22

Hi arisen,

I burnt the cd at the slowest speed possible for the second cd I created.