TRAINING

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by kgerrard32, Jan 11, 2007.

1. kgerrard32

kgerrard32 New Member

HI GUYS, I am new to all this,wonder if any of you guys can help me.I have had two interviews this week,one with ADVENT and one with NITLC,they have both offered me a place on the MCSE course.CAN any one give some advice on which one to choose,and how hard it will be to get the MSCE. I know a small bit about computers but not a hell of alot,but wish a career change due to working in a dead end job.CHEERS

Certifications: none
    WIP: mcse
  2. fsimeta

fsimeta Nibble Poster

I can only answer from one side of that equation :)
    I'm taking an MCSE with NITLC and I had some previous knowledge of PC's and networking so I had a bit of a head start.

I still have a lot to learn though and it's quite a lot to take in at first on the MCSE track, but once you get the whole picture in your head, it doesn't seem as daunting. I have a lot of time to myself, so I have time to study quite a lot, as I'm not a party animal (did that in my 20's) and now like to spend time at home with a good whiskey and a loving wife. But enough about me...back to the course!

NITLC have a lot of good support, recruitment advice and to me seem a genuine bunch of guys and gals. I've had a good laugh with tutors in the chat room, and visiting the place was a good eye opener to see what facilities they had. Looking forward to my N+ workshop.

So there's my 2p's worth, but I haven't had any dealings with Advent, sorry. Maybe someone else on these forums has and will help you out :)

From what I've gleaned either on this forum or from people who are doing the course, 2-3 years is a reasonable time scale depending on your learning style or lifestyle :)

Good luck whichever you choose.

Fsi

Certifications: Comptia A+, Comptia Network+
    WIP: MCP, MCSA, MCSE, CCNA
  3. kgerrard32

kgerrard32 New Member

Cheers FSI thanks for that information very helpful.

Certifications: none