Tracing emails

Discussion in 'Internet, Connectivity and Communications' started by Abs, Feb 17, 2008.

1. Abs

Abs Bit Poster

Hi guys....I was wondering is it pssible to find out where the person who sends email to you is. I know the person and he send me an email, can I found out the country he is in when he send that email? Thanks.

2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

If you run nslookup and query the mx record of the domain you can then put the IP into an application such as neotrace. This should give you some more info to where the email is originating from. 8)

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. Abs

Abs Bit Poster

Sparky

Thanks for that answer. Only problem is Im a noob and the answer totally went over my head lool. How do I do NSlookup and query the mx record of the domain? And is neotrace a free application that can be downloaded free from the internet? Thanks:biggrin

4. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

Using the command window (MS DOS) then enter the commands shown by sparky!

Also just incase - to get to the command window press windows key and the letter R on the keyboard or select the run command under the start menu. then type the following letting CMD and press enter to get the command window up

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  5. Sparky

Start>run

Type cmd and then the command window should appear. Type nslookup.

Then type ‘set type=mx’ and then type in the domain you are trying to query (e.g hotmail.com). It should come back with the IP address of where mail records are pointing to. If it displays something like mail.hotmail.com then type ‘set type=a’ and then type mail.hotmail.com (or whatever the A record is) and that will give you the IP address.