total noob question

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by noisemonkey, Feb 11, 2008.

1. noisemonkey

noisemonkey New Member

I'm looking in to doing the MCDST at the moment and was wondering how to go about it. Should I get a book and pay for the exam and or who is the best course provider?

2. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

You could buy some books for it then just take the exams yes. It's certainly a cheap way of doing it and many people chose the self study route.

It may also be worth checking your local colleges as some run full time / part time professional courses for things like the A+ and the MCDST. Usually a tutor lead course following the MS official curriculum and can be much much cheaper than a private training provider.

Private companies that provide training can also be good but will often charge a significant amount that can run into several thousand pounds. So if you choose that route you must make sure it's the right provider for you.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2K3, MCTS, MOS, MTA, MCT, MCITP:EDST7, MCSA W7, Citrix CCA, ITIL Foundation
    WIP: Nada
  3. noisemonkey

noisemonkey New Member

cool.. I take it the microsoft books are the best then?

4. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

Not necessarily no. They are usually pretty good and often come with a free trial version of the OS that the exam is based upon. Sybex also do some very good books when it comes to professional qualifications.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2K3, MCTS, MOS, MTA, MCT, MCITP:EDST7, MCSA W7, Citrix CCA, ITIL Foundation
    WIP: Nada
  5. noisemonkey

noisemonkey New Member

cheers for the info.. I'll go seek them out..

6. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

How much IT experience do you have?

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  7. noisemonkey

noisemonkey New Member

I have nearly completed a CIW course.. have RSA Wordprocessing II.. always worked with computers and have an apititude for it so might as well make a career out of it.

8. IThurts