Total beginner to MCSE

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by MrHanky, Oct 31, 2005.

1. MrHanky

MrHanky New Member

Hi everybody.

I've recently started a self study for a MCSE with Advent training and i'm concerned that some of the subject matter is harder than i expected at this early stage of the course. I've used Mac's for over ten years now for graphic design but never realised how little i knew about the workings of it etc....
    understandably the course will only get more complex and i fear i will have a large bill at the end of the Two years and nothing to show for it.

Am i 'thick' or has anyone else experienced what i'm going through??

Plus is there any advice or encouragement you can give me?

P.S. I'm just about to encounter 'Protocols'

Certifications: BA Hons
  2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Welcome to CF, glad you found us.
    Advent advertise in my local paper every week but don't give a web addy!
    You are right about MCSE. It would be like a first year medical student expected to carry out a heart transplant.

Best of luck, hope Advent provide you with good support. :)

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  3. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

Nope. You aren't "thick". What you are experiencing is the reason I think the vast majority of training providers are guilty of fraud. It takes a fair amount of knowledge of PC's, servers, and networking to even begin an MCSE.

As far as advice goes.... Well, I'd say go back and study the basics of how PC's work, of networking, TCP/IP, etc.... I started studying those concepts a year before I started my MCSE, and I still found it a difficult accomplishment. I have books on all the foundational subjects.