Too soon....or just right time?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Sisko, Nov 12, 2008.

1. Sisko

Sisko Bit Poster

So, I recieved my MCSE books today, and i'm planning on starting studying for my MCSA. I plan to upgrade to MCSE some time at a later date, but I don't imagine i'll do that for a long while yet.

I graduated from uni in May of this year, and have a year's experience under my belt when I performed a year's university work placement for an IT consultancy. I started in my new job only about 6 weeks ago for a year long contract position with plans to go permenant after, but weather I choose to stay after the contract is up, we'll wait and see.

Alot of my experience is in support and general network admin/maintainence but i'm really wanting to steer myself solely in the direction of Systems Administration hence my decision to take the MCSA. MCSE would be no good to me as I can't see myself being in a network design role for a long while yet. lol :) and I feel that the MCSA is the right certification for me to go for in terms of progressing in my new career.

But, given the fact i'm 23, with only a year and a month's worth experience under my belt, is it too soon for me to begin studying for the MCSA, or is it the right time?? I'm really eager and looking forward to soaking up as much knowledge as I can to further increase my understanding of networks & network administration (sad I know) but i've just thought to myself if its too soon.

Any advice someone can give me perhaps? Or am I being an idiot by wanting to try and certify myself quite early on?? :rolleyes: Cheers :)

Certifications: BSc Computer Network Management & Design
    WIP: 70-640
  2. Obinna Osobalu

Obinna Osobalu Banned

welcome Sisko to CF! You know am still to figure out whats too soon and whats not... Why put off till tomorrow what you know you can always do today?? The answer you personally get from that question is then the right thing for you. Good luck