To old at nearly 46 ?

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by dryman, Mar 13, 2007.

1. dryman

dryman New Member

First off all as am a newbie, a big hello to everybody, and i am so glad I stumbled onto this site.
    Hope you don't mind me jumping straight in, but here goes anyway. I am currently thinking of a career change into IT, I have limited knowledge, I have only a City & Guilds Microcomputers 2 Installation and PC Faults and Diagnostics, and have built my present PC, but I would like to train as a PC engineer, or somewhere along those lines. Maybe Compia A+ would be a good start, from what I have read on here so far, and I would hope one day to get up to an MCSE Certification Standard.
    But my main worry is my age, as I am not far off 46, and I am a little unsure if I've left it 10 years to late. However I am prepared to put in the learning, hardwork and effort required I hope to move on.
    I would welcome any advice, good, bad and not so good
    regards dryman.

Certifications: Non of recognition
    WIP: Thinking about Compia A+
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Welcome!

Your question has been covered VERY recently in this thread - I'm sure you'll find what you need there. The short answer is: no, you're not too old. :)

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome :)

I don't think you're too old. I thought I was trying to get into IT properly at my age, now I have even more incentive to do so.

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  4. Raffaz

Raffaz Kebab Lover Gold Member

Welcome to CF!:)

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, AutoCAD
    WIP: Rennovating my house
  5. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

What is it they say?