This years Graduates...

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by fatp, May 26, 2009.

1. fatp

fatp Byte Poster

Hi Guys,

Just posting after what I saw on msn.co.uk and the news recently.

2009 graduates are now being told to look for work outside of the country... any comments

FatP

2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Top Poster
    of the Month

Yeah thats on the BBC news website too. I'm not sure if its good advice but I'd love to have 6 months Dubai on my CV. I'm a graduate but did my degree part time whilst working in IT so I don't really fit into that scenario I don't think

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Exactly, if Computer Science degree graduates cannot get employment then spending £4-8k with a TP in order to braindump some certs in 1-2 months isn't going to make a jot of difference.

Maybe now we'll see less chancers in IT, but somehow I doubt it...

However if that doesn't stop it the fact that IT is fast becoming a minimum wage job with call centers and offices where workers are treated little better than factory farmed chickens probably will...

For a long time now you've had to be prepared to relocate around the UK to get work, now it looks like you have to be prepared to relocate internationally...

If you're going to enter IT now you better have something to bring to the table, and you better be in it for the long haul...

4. supernova

supernova Gigabyte Poster

I am sure most Graduates, who on average are ~15k+ in debt, can afford plane tickets and hotels for each interview :rolleyes: