This new govnt fund into superfast broadband!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by millsie, Dec 7, 2010.

1. millsie

millsie Byte Poster

hey all, been a while!

Your thoughts on this please...
    I have seen a job advertised in relation to the recent announcement by the government in installing fibre optic and copper network infrastructure in various areas in the uk.

It sounds like a really good job with full training provided. My question is, how well would this fit in with my current plans of becoming a network admin/engineer?

Of course, it would give good grounding in handling fibre etc etc.. but does a network engineer generally get involved in administering equipment as well as installing it? I presume it would be great skills to have, but am unsure how it would fit into my plans, I am currently a bog standard support analyst in an IT based job, but this current role is never going to give me exposure to networking/admin/infrastructure as it stands.

What I am getting at, is does your average network person deal with cabling, and all the other type of installing of equipment that the role I mentioned would give me exposure to?

Thanks guys

Steveo

Certifications: N+, CCNA, MCDST
    WIP: CCNP route 642-902
  2. cosway

cosway Nibble Poster

Hi Steveo

Just my thoughts....

Depends on how soon you want to be a systems admin.

If you believe your current job has nothing to offer and if this installation job checks out ok (not a 5 minute temp job, or actually digging up the road etc..), I'd say go for it. There are a million and one IT support people out there, when interviewing for a systems admin your next employer may see it as an added extra that you have insider knowledge of the governments new superfast broadband service and that you can set up the fibre optics.

...but on the other hand...