thinking about a new carear in i.t

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by piers2002, Aug 2, 2009.

1. piers2002

piers2002 New Member

hello

my name is piers Ive just registered on here today. when i left school i left with quite good grades none in i.t though . i completed a 3 yr apprenticeship in car mechanics after i got made redundant this year i am struggling to get back into the trade and i didn't particularly like the job after 4 years anyway. so i got a phone call the other day off computrain offering me an training course in i.t . after seeing the price tag and seeing so much bad feedback about the company i turned him down . Any way it got me thinking that i would like to train for a career in i.t. basically i don't know what sort of jobs there are out there and how i would train or anything i am completely new to it all . i would like to do something hands on with hardware etc as well as the sat at the desk sorting out software side of things . any advice in witch jobs to have a look at training for would be much appreciated . can any one point me in the right direction and if i do get trained up. what do people think the chances of me getting a job at the end are ?
    thank you

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)

You could always try to get an IT apprenticeship, the same way you did it with car mechanics. Apart from the the entry level/tier 1 certs would include the A+, Network+ and the MCDST. However if you want a job in IT, just keep applying for any entry jobs that you see regardless if you have IT qualifications or not :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. saints

saints New Member