The fastest way to refresh and integrate your knowledge

Discussion in 'A+' started by bigfootingrouter, Nov 10, 2008.

1. bigfootingrouter

bigfootingrouter New Member

Hi guys,

I've done a bit of research around, but there is still one piece missing and I hope you can help me planning successfully my study.

Short version:

What is in your opinion the best material for someone who is already knowledgeable about computers?

Long version:

I live in Italy and I'm in IT since more than 10 years. I started as a computer technician, assembling PCs, meanwhile I graduated in computer science and now work as a system administrator. The thing is my knowledge is a bit scattered and fragmented. As most sysadmin, I work with very tight schedule and often don't have the time to study a technology in depth. Usually I just have to make things work (I've no certification).

This is why I've looked around, searching for something that would refresh my skills and fill the missing pieces, all in a nicely organized way.

I want to start from the bottom, from CompTIA A+ and then build up from there. Reading the syllabus I understand there are still subjects I need to study, even if I probably already know most of the topics -- as looking at some video samples has confirmed. So, before starting to study, I'd like to collect the most useful resources for me. Live training is out of question because of time constraints and preference for self-study. Also, I'm not interested in memorizing dumps, or just passing the exam. The exam is secondary right now. The goal is to refresh and organize my foundations.

I guess the questions are:

- Video or books?
    - What specific product should I buy?
    - Are there courses targeted to an experienced audience?

Thanks a lot for reading.

2. Josiahb

Josiahb Gigabyte Poster