The day in the life of a tech

Discussion in 'Just for Laughs' started by SimonV, Dec 3, 2004.

1. SimonV
    Honorary Member

SimonV Petabyte Poster Gold Member

After reading another thread I was wondering if anyone had any funny stories from your days working as a tech, I thought it would be great to get a collection of them here.

So, have you got any stories of idiot users, rediculious call center calls or just general laugh a minute scenarios from the world of a tech. Come on, tell all. :biggrin

Certifications: MOS Master 2003, CompTIA A+, MCSA:M, MCSE
    WIP: Keeping CF Alive...
  2. Phil
    Honorary Member

Phil Gigabyte Poster

Ok, can't remember if I've posted this before but it had me laughing my arse off for days. This is from a friend of mine who works in a large hospital

The ladies in the general office had a paper jam this morning in the back of one of our large report printing laser printers.

So they dismantled it: completely. And I really mean completely completely.

Leaving it still attached to the mains they used a cunning combination of a butter knife and a fork (both metal) and some brute leverage to disgorge the innards of the printer across several desks.

Having dismantled it (and not electrocute themselves or perform localised eye surgery with the laser) they removed the offending paper and then proceeded to rebuild it, with said knife and fork. Having figured out where all those pesky springs and rubber roller things went, they dropped the toner cartridge which ejected a small, black mushroom cloud of toner across the office.