The company is paying.. what cert would you reccomend me?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by ninjadeathcult, Apr 10, 2009.

1. ninjadeathcult

ninjadeathcult Bit Poster

Hi,
    I would like to have your opinion on a couple of matters, I am very new to the IT industry I have only worked on a tier 1 service desk for the last 18 months where my technical involvement was nothing more than very basic troubleshooting (no remote assistance). Since I have been there I have finnished my MCDST It is expected at my work for desktop support roles to open up shortly so I am waiting to see..Now that I have finnished my mcdst I am looking at my next cert I have been informed that the training budget at my work is being under utilised and that if I was to go to them saying I wish to this course/exam they may well go for it I know that my work has spent thousands on people to do 1 week courses before, paying for accom etc. So my question is what is a widelly regarded certification that you would reccomend? bare in mind my limited experience. I was thinking maybe an active directory crash course? An Itil Cert? It doesnt have to be something I want to spend the rest of my life doing I just want a 1-2 week max course that is going to complement my IT careeer (no matter which specific direction I go)

your thoughts

Certifications: MCP, MCDST
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Since you are new to IT and you only want a 1-2 week course, I would strongly not recommend a crash course in AD, there is so much to learn in AD that I feel that it would be more confusing than helpful without some sort of background knowledge. Especially since you have only completed the MCDST and there's the full client & server portion that would help you before you actually delve into AD.