Technical Test for job interview

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Paolow, Dec 25, 2007.

1. Paolow

Paolow Bit Poster

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on certforums. To cut a long story short, im trying to get my first entry level job in the industry and im studying for the following certs:

A+
    N+
    MCSA
    MCSE

Ive been applying for various jobs without any luck as I have no experience,until the other day i got an email asking to attend a three hour interview for a trainee support and development role. The technical tests involve the following:

• A Programming test

You will be given a simple program in the language of your choice. It is not very interesting or well written! (It starts out with around 14 lines of code in VB).
    You will have to add some features and functionality to this, by adding code, or by re-writing parts.
    If you have limited coding experience, you can complete the task by writing ‘pseudo-code’ – describing in English what you’d like the code to do.

• A Data Processing test

Our company gathers lots of information about its users and user base.
    You will be given a set of 10,000 records, as an Access database, and as an Excel spreadsheet (containing identical data).
    We will ask you to interrogate and provide statistics on various aspects of the data.
    (You may use Access query designer, Standard SQL queries within Access, Excel, or any other tools you wish.)

• A User Support test

The support team deals with hundreds of support requests, you will be given some examples of typical support requests and asked to write emails / instructions explaining how to solve the problem.
    (These may or may not be relevant just to our business)