1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switch refuses to execute commands

Discussion in 'Routing & Switching' started by Andrew95, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. Andrew95

    Andrew95 Bit Poster

    22
    0
    21
    My cisco 3500 XL switch is running IOS c3500xl-c3h2s-mz.120-5.WC17.bin and seems to be operating normally. However it refuses to execute some instructions, regaRDLES OF WHATEVER operating mode it is in. I am currently following a Cisco CCNA CBT on route to a CCNA. Can you help?
     
    Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: CCNP CCDP CCIE
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

    14,283
    254
    329
    have you tried turning it off then on again?
     
    Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. TheITCrowd

    TheITCrowd Kilobyte Poster

    250
    3
    37
    Need more info, what commands?

    Would normally be that the commands are not quite correct, try using the TAB key when putting the commands in to see if the switch recognises them. Commands can be slightly different on later or ealier models. You could also copy your IOS to a TFTP server and try loading it again.
     
    Certifications: Network + |CCNA |MCTS-70-680,MCTS-70-401, MCTS-70-656, MCTS-70-351 |HP AIS ProCurve Networking -2011 | HP2-896 |VCD-CP27|JNCIA |Hewlett Packard ASE - Network Infrastructure (2011)
    WIP: 642-813
  4. Macfly!

    Macfly! Bit Poster

    17
    0
    12
    Maybe also you ios dosn't support certain commands, the different versions have different options.

    Mac
     
    Certifications: CCENT
    WIP: CCNA
  5. Andrew95

    Andrew95 Bit Poster

    22
    0
    21
    I have tried all of the above. Commands such as "ip address" "port secure" and many othersjust don't work. I am just following the most basic set of instructions on a CIsco CCNA CBT. The consequence of not being able to play around with the real set of commands is hindering my progress.

    I hope this isn't too much information but I have included the router startup stage and the running-config. As I am new to using this forum, I hope I haven't put too much information up here. Thanks in advance for your help.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    C3500XL Boot Loader (C3500-HBOOT-M) Version 12.0(5.2)XU, MAINTENANCE INTERIM SOF
    TWARE
    Compiled Mon 17-Jul-00 18:42 by ayounes
    starting...
    Base ethernet MAC Address: 00:04:c1:fb:c3:80
    Xmodem file system is available.
    Initializing Flash...
    flashfs[0]: 19 files, 3 directories
    flashfs[0]: 0 orphaned files, 0 orphaned directories
    flashfs[0]: Total bytes: 3612672
    flashfs[0]: Bytes used: 3032064
    flashfs[0]: Bytes available: 580608
    flashfs[0]: flashfs fsck took 4 seconds.
    ...done Initializing Flash.
    Boot Sector Filesystem (bs:) installed, fsid: 3
    Parameter Block Filesystem (pb:) installed, fsid: 4
    Loading "flash:c3500xl-c3h2s-mz.120-5.WC17.bin"...##############################
    ################################################################################
    #####################################################################

    File "flash:c3500xl-c3h2s-mz.120-5.WC17.bin" uncompressed and installed, entry p
    oint: 0x3000
    executing...

    Restricted Rights Legend

    Use, duplication, or disclosure by the Government is
    subject to restrictions as set forth in subparagraph
    (c) of the Commercial Computer Software - Restricted
    Rights clause at FAR sec. 52.227-19 and subparagraph
    (c) (1) (ii) of the Rights in Technical Data and Computer
    Software clause at DFARS sec. 252.227-7013.

    cisco Systems, Inc.
    170 West Tasman Drive
    San Jose, California 95134-1706



    Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
    IOS (tm) C3500XL Software (C3500XL-C3H2S-M), Version 12.0(5)WC17, RELEASE SOFTWA
    RE (fc1)
    Copyright (c) 1986-2007 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    Compiled Tue 13-Feb-07 15:04 by antonino
    Image text-base: 0x00003000, data-base: 0x00352924


    Initializing C3500XL flash...
    flashfs[1]: 19 files, 3 directories
    flashfs[1]: 0 orphaned files, 0 orphaned directories
    flashfs[1]: Total bytes: 3612672
    flashfs[1]: Bytes used: 3032064
    flashfs[1]: Bytes available: 580608
    flashfs[1]: flashfs fsck took 4 seconds.
    flashfs[1]: Initialization complete.
    ...done Initializing C3500XL flash.
    C3500XL POST: System Board Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Daughter Card Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: CPU Buffer Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: CPU Notify RAM Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: CPU Interface Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Testing Switch Core: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Testing Buffer Table: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Data Buffer Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Configuring Switch Parameters: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Ethernet Controller Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: MII Test: Passed
    cisco WS-C3548-XL (PowerPC403) processor (revision 0x01) with 16384K/1024K bytes
    of memory.
    Processor board ID FAA0503M03H, with hardware revision 0x00
    Last reset from power-on

    Processor is running Enterprise Edition Software
    Cluster command switch capable
    Cluster member switch capable
    48 FastEthernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
    2 Gigabit Ethernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)

    32K bytes of flash-simulated non-volatile configuration memory.
    Base ethernet MAC Address: 00:04:C1:FB:C3:80
    Motherboard assembly number: 73-3903-07
    Power supply part number: 34-0971-01
    Motherboard serial number: FAA05020T7L
    Power supply serial number: PAC04320TQ6
    Model revision number: A0
    Motherboard revision number: B0
    Model number: WS-C3548-XL-EN
    System serial number: FAA0503M03H


    Press RETURN to get started!


    C3500XL INIT: Complete

    00:00:38: %SYS-5-CONFIG: Configured from NVRAM by console
    00:00:38: %SYS-5-RESTART: System restarted --
    Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
    IOS (tm) C3500XL Software (C3500XL-C3H2S-M), Version 12.0(5)WC17, RELEASE SOFTWA
    RE (fc1)
    Copyright (c) 1986-2007 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    Compiled Tue 13-Feb-07 15:04 by antonino
    MCR>sho run
    ^
    % Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

    MCR>en
    Password:
    MCR#sho run
    Building configuration...

    Current configuration:
    !
    version 12.0
    no service pad
    service timestamps debug uptime
    service timestamps log uptime
    no service password-encryption
    !
    hostname MCR
    !
    enable secret 5 $1$fZ81$Lvx24eIKYbGgW1EdsYaFX1
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    ip subnet-zero
    !
    !
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/1
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/2
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/3
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/4
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/5
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/6
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/7
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/8
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/9
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/10
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/11
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/12
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/13
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/14
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/15
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/16
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/17
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/18
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/19
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/20
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/21
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/22
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/23
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/24
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/25
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/26
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/27
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/28
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/29
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/30
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/31
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/32
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/33
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/34
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/35
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/36
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/37
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/38
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/39
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/40
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/41
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/42
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/43
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/44
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/45
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/46
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/47
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/48
    !
    interface GigabitEthernet0/1
    !
    interface GigabitEthernet0/2
    !
    interface VLAN1
    ip address 10.20.30.40 255.255.255.0
    no ip directed-broadcast
    no ip route-cache
    !
    ip default-gateway 10.20.30.41
    snmp-server engineID local 0000000902000004C1FBC380
    snmp-server community private RW
    snmp-server community public RO
    !
    line con 0
    exec-timeout 0 0
    transport input none
    stopbits 1
    line vty 0 4
    password telnet
    login
    line vty 5 15
    password telnet
    login
    !
    end
     
    Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: CCNP CCDP CCIE
  6. TheITCrowd

    TheITCrowd Kilobyte Poster

    250
    3
    37
    Are you at the correct level for configuration, Ie to add ip addy you need to be in the required interface:

    TestRouter#conf t
    Enter configuration commands, one per line. End with CNTL/Z.
    TestRouter(config)#do sh ip int bri
    Interface IP-Address OK? Method Status Protocol

    FastEthernet0/0 1.1.1.1 YES manual administratively down down

    FastEthernet0/1 unassigned YES manual administratively down down

    Vlan1 unassigned YES manual administratively down down
    TestRouter(config)#int fa 0/0
    TestRouter(config-if)#ip add
    TestRouter(config-if)#ip address 1.1.1.1 255.0.0.0
    TestRouter(config-if)#
     
    Certifications: Network + |CCNA |MCTS-70-680,MCTS-70-401, MCTS-70-656, MCTS-70-351 |HP AIS ProCurve Networking -2011 | HP2-896 |VCD-CP27|JNCIA |Hewlett Packard ASE - Network Infrastructure (2011)
    WIP: 642-813
  7. cisco lab rat

    cisco lab rat Megabyte Poster

    660
    62
    116
    the 3500xl is a layer 2 switch, quite old. A lot of the commands don't work, I used to use two of them in the classroom as tea trays they we're that unless, sorry mate. Best to get 2950's at the very minimum.

    For example applying vlans is done via the "vlan database" rather than from the global config, I don't think they support Rapid spanning tree either, and the output of the spanning tree is slightly different to that you'll see in the books.

    Cheers

    Joe
     
    Certifications: Yes I pretty much am!!
    WIP: Fizzicks Degree
  8. Andrew95

    Andrew95 Bit Poster

    22
    0
    21
    Thanks a lot Joe. Your advice makes sense. I have two of these switches here and they both behave the same. Best to start again with another switch.

    Andrew95
     
    Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: CCNP CCDP CCIE
  9. jonny7_2002

    jonny7_2002 Byte Poster

    191
    9
    37
    I have a 2924 that i have for sale. I started to use it for my CCNA studies as i thought physical hardware must be better.... BUT i found that the Packet Tracer Emulator has more than enough commands to get you through the CCNA and now im on the CCNP i use GNS 3 which is outstanding!

    Cisco do not endorse the use of their images with GNS 3 blah blah blah (just for people who decide to point that out!) :biggrin
     
    Certifications: CCNA R&S, CCNP R&S, CCDA, CCNA Voice, CCNA Wireless & CCNA Security
    WIP: CCIE V5 (when its out)
  10. cisco lab rat

    cisco lab rat Megabyte Poster

    660
    62
    116
    CCNP ROUTE 642-902
    Official Certification Guide
    ciscopress

    Chapter 20
    Page 677
    Step 3, third paragraph down.


    I quote from the manual:

    "As for emulators, two exist of note. For the general public, a group of three free software offerings cooperate to allow you to run multiple instances of IOS on a PC: Dynagen and Dynamips (link removed) for the emulation, and GNS3 for the graphical interface (link removed)."

    Makes you wonder................

    left hand to right hand "how do you do?",
    Right hand "who are you?????"
     
    Certifications: Yes I pretty much am!!
    WIP: Fizzicks Degree
  11. BosonMichael
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

    19,136
    462
    374
    But... Cisco Press is not Cisco. It is a common misconception that they are the same. Cisco Press is a division of Pearson Education: link

    So they can talk about GNS3 all they want in their book... but it still doesn't make it legal to use.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
    Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  12. cisco lab rat

    cisco lab rat Megabyte Poster

    660
    62
    116
    Maybe so, but not everyone is aware of that. They will and do associate ciscopress and cisco as one and the same
     
    Certifications: Yes I pretty much am!!
    WIP: Fizzicks Degree
  13. danielno8

    danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

    1,305
    48
    92
    It's highly unlikely that Cisco are saying Cisco Press are the only authorised publisher, whilst at the same time being unaware/against the recommendation in the book about using IOS with an emulator.

    My guess is Cisco do not care about IOS being used in GNS3/Dynamips, but do care about IOS possibly being used in other hardware, hence the licence against using it outside Cisco hardware.
     
    Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  14. ThomasMc

    ThomasMc Gigabyte Poster

    1,507
    49
    111
    Even the Cisco employees use it and also the VCE team :) end of the day, if you pay Cisco enough money they will let you use it, similar to the Nexus 1000v
     
    Certifications: MCDST|FtOCC
    WIP: MCSA(70-270|70-290|70-291)
  15. BosonMichael
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

    19,136
    462
    374
    According to the message I received from Cisco Legal, they do care: link

    If you disagree with the decisions of the Cisco Legal team, there's no reason to argue with me about it; take it up with them. I'm just relaying the message they gave me.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
    Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  16. BosonMichael
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

    19,136
    462
    374
    Cisco employees can do whatever their employer lets them do. It's their IOS.

    This argument has been done to death. Until Cisco Legal says it's OK for us to use, it's still illegal. Just because you don't agree with the decision doesn't make it any less illegal.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
    Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  17. danielno8

    danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

    1,305
    48
    92
    I don't think anyone is disagreeing that it states in the licence NOT to use it outside of their hardware. That e-mail from "Cisco Legal" doesn't confirm that they actually CARE. They merely confirmed that using it outside the cisco hardware is against the licence (something we already know).

    What was being discussed was whether they care. My opinion is that they don't, since THEIR authorised publisher recommends using the Cisco IOS in GNS3/Dynamips.

    As i said, licence is probably their, not to protect against use in emulation software, but against using the IOS in other hardware.
     
    Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  18. BosonMichael
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

    19,136
    462
    374
    And my point is that it doesn't matter whether they enforce their licensing or not: it's still illegal, and as such, discussing how to use the Cisco IOS outside of the hardware on CertForums is a violation of the Rules and Guidelines of this forum.

    We're not allowed to talk about ways to crack software... we're not allowed to talk about how to torrent movies... we're not allowed to talk about methods we can use to pirate music. This should be treated no differently.
     
    Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  19. ThomasMc

    ThomasMc Gigabyte Poster

    1,507
    49
    111
    Sorry BM I wasn't saying it was legal just pointing out that it's what they use internally ;)
     
    Certifications: MCDST|FtOCC
    WIP: MCSA(70-270|70-290|70-291)
  20. danielno8

    danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

    1,305
    48
    92
    EDIT: No one did anything in this thread which broke certforums rules.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
    Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP

Share This Page

Loading...