Studying For the Comptia Net+ Exam

Discussion in 'Network+' started by Professor-Falken, Oct 3, 2007.

1. Professor-Falken

Professor-Falken Kilobyte Poster

I am studying for the Comptia Network + exam does anyone have any helpful hints.
    So far its has been pretty simple but I am kind of stuck on the topic.OSI Model.
    Is there a good book for the Network + I am using an e-book from exam cram.

Professor Falken

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia Network +
  2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

I've personally learnt the OSI model from doing ccna, but I do have the Mike Meyers Network+ book that explains the OSI model pretty well.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  3. Professor-Falken

Are the Mike Meyers book available as E-books A+ and N+ do you know?

Professor Falken

4. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Well usually when you purchase the book, it comes with a cd that contains the e-book. However I dont think you can get just the e-book.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  5. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Just a few questions, Professor.

Why do you need an eBook (and as was said, usually when you by the print book, an eBook comes with the CD)?

What is it that you're having trouble with regarding the OSI. Is it remembering the order of the layers or what each of the layers is supposed to do? Lot's of stuff available via a Google search for "osi model":

http://www.google.com/search?q=osi+...oi=revisions_inline&resnum=0&ct=revision&cd=1

BTW, Meyers is great teaching the A+ but so-so with everything else including the Network+. In my opinion, the Sybex Network+ book is better.