studying for the 70-271

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by alien8predator, Jun 3, 2008.

1. alien8predator

alien8predator Bit Poster

Hey Everyone,
    I'm studying for the 70-271 certification, and I'm using the following book someone advised me.

http://www.sybex.com/WileyCDA/SybexTitle/productCd-0782143520.html

I really like the book, but I'm having some trouble understanding permissions. What's the easiest way to remember how they work cuz I think they get kind of confusing. I try to study by testing it out on a testing system I created with vmware and taking notes on important parts of the chapters. Does anyone have any study tips for or any other helpfull advise for taking the 70-271? I'm taking the exam at the end of this month. Thanks in advance for all those who respond :)

Certifications: ITIL;70-271
    WIP: MCDST
  2. Ropenfold

Ropenfold Kilobyte Poster

Hi alien8predator,

Have you got the MS Press book for the 70-271? I would recommend you buy that book and use the Sybex book as a supplement to that book. To be honest the Sybex book doesn't go into the detail that I think is required to pass the course.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/MCDST-Self-...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1212489551&sr=8-1

Certifications: BSC (Hons), A+, MCDST, N+, 70-270, 98-364, CLF-C01
    WIP: ISC2 CC, Security+
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

what he said ^

Welcome to CF :)

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. GiddyG

GiddyG Terabyte Poster Gold Member

Yup... couldn't agree more with Ropenfold and GBL. The Sybex is good, but not enough to get you through. Plus, the version of the Sybex book you're reading is the older one (no SP2 in it) from memory. The MS Training kit is very good. Also, You really need to be looking at TechNet and elsewhere on the MS site too.

As ever, the best thing is to work with the OS, to see what it can and can't do.

5. alien8predator