Studying for 1st line role.

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by MetalTech, Jul 15, 2012.

1. MetalTech

MetalTech Bit Poster

Hey all,

I'm back and just about to take my Network+ exam, which I am very confident in being able to pass. I have also passed my A+ back in February earlier this year. I am studying with the intention of landing a job in a helpdesk role or similar (seeing as I have customer service and call centre experience). Problem is, I am a little stuck in what to do next. I have applied to many jobs and to say the response is limited is an understatement!

Do you think it would benefit me to study 70-680 + 685 next as was my original intention, or should I just apply for jobs more often? I've heard the 70-680/685 are expiring July 2013, so I'm wondering if it would still be worth pursuing. Or would I be better off directly studying the subjects advertised in the majority of positions advertised, eg. AD, MS Exchange, ITIL. Or would they be too advanced for me to get certified in? (Although I do have a small amount of experience in AD).

Many thoughts and questions whirl around my mind, which I would rather were directed into something more productive...

Many thanks.

MT

Certifications: A+, N+
    WIP: 70-680
  2. Beerbaron

Beerbaron Megabyte Poster

I would keep applying for jobs as you may just get lucky. AD and ITIL would be good places to start.

Certifications: BSc (Hons), MSc, ITIL v3F, MCP, MCDST, MCITP: edst7, MCTS, MCSA: Server 2003, MCSA: Windows 7, N+, NVQ IT lvl 3, MCSA Windows 7, VCP5, CCENT, CEH
    WIP: CISSP
  3. MetalTech

MetalTech Bit Poster

Thanks Beerbaron :) that's the general feeling I get whilst reading through these forums. Now I guess I need to look towards learning more about AD and ITIL. Are there any recommended MS AD certs for relative newcomers to it like myself? With ITIL I guess I'd be looking at the ITIL v3 Foundation 2011?

4. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster