Studying CCNA & Employment

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by chris2007, Nov 18, 2007.

1. chris2007

chris2007 New Member

Hi

I'm currently studying towards a CCNA cert, on a 1 year course at Shiney Row College UK. Will be qualified by July 2008. I have done a HNC but only passed the 1st year. I had to quit the 2nd year due to work commitments. I've been working in call centers in sales roles for banks and financial organisations for about 5 years, and am good at what i do, well i think as i have done well on the sales. But i am desperate to get basically a better wage. I am also self employed, suppose i could be described as an Entrepreneur. At the mo my current project is entertainment media.

My question is, from the brief summary above. What do you guys think of my chances in getting a job that would be CCNA related? And is being an Entrepreneur a potentially damaging attribute for employers when they are looking for employees? i.e getting the job.....

Any advice would be great!

Regards

Chris

2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

No way whatsoever. You need commercial experience before anyone will let you near Cisco kit. The general path is starting out in desktop support, network admin and then possibly on Cisco related work after that.

Id watch out for someone saying they are an entrepreneur when if fact they just talk bulls**t. Im not saying you do by the way! :biggrin

Have you applied for any IT jobs yet? 8)

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. chris2007

chris2007 New Member

Hi

I have applied to a few places asking if they consider taking people on who are working towards CCNA. Not had anything back so far?