Study methods

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by P3-450, Nov 20, 2005.

1. P3-450

P3-450 Bit Poster

Hi all

I am currently signed up for the N+ and MCSA route with Scheidegger.

I am finding the N+ a bit tough to start of with, but I am thinking it's down to the way I am studying.

Like a lot of you probably are doing, I am trying to balance work and study.

Does anyone have any tips on the best way to study for this?

I am currently reading through the materials I was given but not sure how best to make it stick in my head.

Any help would be great :biggrin

Certifications: A+ DCSE
    WIP: N+ and MCSA
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

It won't stick in your head unless you combine theoretical study with hands on practice. If you haven't already, you should build a home lab to try things out on.

Good luck

Pete

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

I agree with Bluerinse. I could try to read a book all day long and never learn the material, but if I can actually apply the information and practice it, I'll learn much better and retain the info longer. That's one of my gripes against most IT texts...not enough practical labs...especially those that build on knowledge learned earlier in the book.

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  4. Jakamoko
    Honorary Member

Jakamoko On the move again ...

As well as the above, a quiet place and pre-alotted study time. Make yourself study within a certain and determined timeframe, including breaks. Be flexible - if your head's not in it, then just refresh some basics. If you're up for it, then study "deeper" than normal (investigate the "why's" and "how's" ).

Make your study time work for you rather than against you. If you persist when it's not going your way, then you may put yourself off your pattern altogether.

Just a few things tha have worked for me in the past - HTH :)