Study Methods

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Davver, May 12, 2005.

1. Davver

Davver Bit Poster

Hi All,

Just wanted to get some advice from you peeps who have successsfully passed your A+.

I use my own methods but not sure if there would be a better way?

Any help would be appreciated

Davver

Certifications: Diploma IT
    WIP: A+
  2. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

Well, I am probably in a different situation to most studying for their A+. I have been doing the kind of thing A+ is tested on for a long time now, so it was more of a refresher than anything else. I thought it was a good place to start in terms of getting some formal certification under my belt.

As for how I studied, well I got hold of one of the A+ video training CD's. Watched it through and made some notes as I went along. But what I found most useful was taking practice exams, then focusing on the questions I got wrong. That helped allot. I found Trancender tests very good. I booked my first exam using GetCertified4Less, and they do a deal were you can get a trancender test and an exam voucher together at a discounted price. Cost me about £117.00 when I converted it from dollars, which is about what the online price for a single exam is from Pearson VUE is anyway.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2K3, MCTS, MOS, MTA, MCT, MCITP:EDST7, MCSA W7, Citrix CCA, ITIL Foundation
    WIP: Nada
  3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi,

As Modey quite rightly said everyone has their own preferences on what they feel comfortable with.
    One tip I will give you is print out the objectives so when you have read your book (or books as I do) watched your videos, made memory cards for the things you need to commit to memory, go through the objectives and make sure you know each one in every shape and fashion.
    You can put notes next to them. They are good to take with you on exam day and read through them while you are waiting to keep your mind fresh.