study for the 70-433

Discussion in 'SQL Exams' started by harag, Jul 13, 2010.

1. harag

harag New Member

Hi all

I've recently bought the following from Amazon:

MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-433): Microsoft SQL Server 2008 - Database Development

I've been playing around with SQL for around 8 years now (started with SQL 2k) and in my current job been using it more and more, so I thought I'd look into doing some exams and become certified (want to change my job and go down the SQL developer route) so I've picked the 70-433 one to do first. I hope that if this is achieved I can still go for developer jobs in 2005 as the main language hasn't changed. I also plan on doing the other courses so any advice on which would be helpful.

As I can't afford to do a six day 12hr a day type course (around 3,500 POUNDS) I've chosen self study the first one.

My concerns are
    1. WHERE do I actually take the exam? - Note I live in the UK - in Yorkshire
    2. How much does it cost? (in sterling)

Also does anyone have any advice on the above study book / method?

Thanks for any help / advice.

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

I took the 2005 version of the Exam, it was pretty easy compared to other MS development exams.

Prometric and Pearson Vue are the two major test centre companies in the UK, they license third party companies who actually carry out the testing.

Microsoft has a sole supplier agreement with Prometric so you will have to go to one of their test centres.

http://www.prometric.com/

Look around their site.

Self study is a valid option, you should have experience for most MS certs however, which in your case you have.

The microsoft cert site explains the options.

Read book, practice labs, use measure up test, book then take exam, simples.

MS exams normally around £90.