struggling to get entry level job

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by dirt, Aug 13, 2007.

1. dirt

dirt New Member

hi all, hope you're all doing well.
    it's been a while since my last post cus i've been busy trying to get my first job in IT.
    i studied for the a+ and n+ and finished the course last year then revised for my exams and passed them in the end of january.
    i've joined loads of job sites and applied for around 140 jobs, some above my station (worth a shot right?) and some for entry level stuff.
    i've had 6 companies interested but only two gave me interviews. the first was really nerve racking sat at a big hexagonal table opposite 3 important people. it didn't go that well and i got the feeling they were basically saying i had no experience and should get microsoft certified. they didn't have the decency to even let me know.
    the second went really well and i seemed more suited to the position. they seemed very interested and said lots of great things (noone else had my qualifications, good that i had n+ too cus it would come in handy) etc.
    but still a know go. i went for a grad position 3 nights ago just for the hell of it but they kindly said no.
    i am seriously loosing faith here and still fitting windows in the rain for no money with pigeon pooh down my neck etc.
    any advice from anyone would be........well at this point........a well needed boost.
    thanks for listening................over to you jerry.

cheers

dirt

Certifications: a+ n+
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

We have all been there mate, so try to stay positive about the whole thing.

On the plus side you have had some interviews, this means your CV is doing the business and each time you have an interview you will gain some valuable experience.

Why not add a MCP to your list of certs? Wont do any harm! :biggrin

Best of luck! :thumbleft