still struggling

Discussion in 'Scripting & Programming' started by zxspectrum, Feb 26, 2007.

1. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

Ok folks ive been doing vb for a few months now and im still struggling with it. I have books on the stuff but i need something that basically really dumbs it down for me.

Does anyone know of such a place/book as i know if i can get the first start then im on my way

Eddie

Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

For Dummies - choose your pick! i have used the VB 6 and C++ for dummies back in my college days and they both helped alot.. but nothing beats sitting down in front of the pc and programming - no book can teach that.

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Eddie, you may have posted this before but I don't recall so I'll ask. What sort of programming background do you have? I'm wondering if you are having issues learning VB per se or if those issues have to do with learning programming in general?

I reviewed a book called Code Craft: The Practice of Writing Excellent Code for The Linux Tutorial site back in January that might make a worthy addition to your technical library.

Having said that, if I'm barking up the wrong tree, my apologies.

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  4. Fire guy

Fire guy Bit Poster

I would recommend the Complete Idiots Guide series of books for anybody looking for a well explained intruduction to programming languages and concepts. I found the C++ helped me no end.

Have a look on Amazon I'm sure you will find some on there.

Certifications: A+
    WIP: N+
  5. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

Hi all cheers or your feedback.