Stick at contracting or go permanent?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Vdubster187, Jul 22, 2015.

1. Vdubster187

Vdubster187 Bit Poster

Hi all,

Having contracted ever since leaving the military on 2012 I am now at the point of deciding if permanent may be a better long term option.

Started off at the low end, IMAC work very basic and not very rewarding, having said I used this time to complete A+ and CCNA

My next long term contract was network installation and light configuration ( recently finished )
    During this time I studied and passed CCNA Security and a McAfee IPS cert.

Now currently looking for my next contract in the networking sphere, my eyes have been opened to the damage I may have done by not going permanent in the first place to build a solid networking background. I am finding many Networking contracts are looking for experience in a supporting role, with being aware of all the protocols etc but never really had to troubleshoot in a real situation, this seems to be my shortfall.

My ideal role would be in network security, firewalls etc.. I am hoping on some helpful pointers, do I stick out the contracting or do I start again in the permanent world. It is seeming very hard to get past interview stages as soon as previous support role questions are asked.

Also I am now studying for Checkpoint CCSA will this do my more damage than good without the experience to back it up?

Any pointers or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Vdubster

Certifications: A+ (2009), MCDST, NVQ2 IT, CCNA, CCNA (S) MCP (70-290) McAfee NSP
  2. Apexes

Apexes Gigabyte Poster

Difficult one really. Contracting is great if you're happy going in and out of roles, and with your CCNA i'd say your certainly setup for it and can't imagine you'd have too many issues picking up a new contract.

I started off the same as you, low end contracting, and stuck at that for 3 years, until i decided to go permanent after getting the right job offer.