Starting Salary, No experience, A+

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by jo74, Jul 4, 2008.

1. jo74

jo74 Byte Poster

I was made redundant from a mickey mouse office job that perhaps a monkey could’ve done (perhaps one of the reasons why I was made redundant :dry) and now I’m studying for the A+ & N +. I’ve seen some postings that mentioned starting salaries of £12 - £14 k for a first ever IT job. But, relative my last unskilled job’s salary, is it unreasonable to expect quite a bit more in a skilled job? By the way, I’m not going on the information about salaries from the website IT jobswatch, nor the claims made by training providers (I’m doing self study anyway).

Certifications: A+, N+, Sec+
    WIP: CCENT, CCNA
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome

12k - 14k is normal you could get more if your lucky but you could also get less.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. jo74

jo74 Byte Poster

Thanks for the (amazingly) quick reply. Without wishing to sound too naive, it just seems a bit daft that I might not (albeit initially) be earning much more (or even less) than in my last unskilled job :(.

Certifications: A+, N+, Sec+
    WIP: CCENT, CCNA
  4. greenbrucelee

Once you get into it and get experience then your salary will go up. It just depends on how much you are willing to drop.

I have a bigger quandry, if I get my first IT job I could end up dropping as much as 6k or even more as my work are discussing give me a 7k pay rise, which mean I might drop 13k. Take my advice and get your first IT job ASAP then you wont get in a situation like me.

5. willt

willt New Member

It's one of the weird things about this industry. You get paid stupidly low wages for having reasonably high levels of skill, whereas you can get paid more for knowing how to answer a phone and fill in a form in an office.