Starting my own business.

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Maruchino, Feb 2, 2008.

1. Maruchino

Maruchino Bit Poster

Hi there, this is my first of hopefully many posts on certforums.

I would like the opinion of fellow certforum members regarding certifications required/needed/welcomed when starting your own business.

It is my intention to go into business with a friend later this year. We plan to open a computer shop in my home town and to operate a home call and business call service alongside. We are both university educated (my friend graduates this year). I studied bsc computer science, and he is studying maths w/ statistics - so we both have a technical background. I also have a national diploma in computing, and at one point I did complete instructor training for CCNA, but never took the exams. What I am asking the certforums community is your opinion on what certifications you would take if you were going to do what I plan to do. After trying and failing to land anything worthwhile in the IT industry, I have decided I may as well go down the self employment route.

I have a full time job at the moment, but have enough spare time to study hard for any number of certifications - but where should I start? From what I understand, A+ will cover many topics I already know, but is it worth becoming certified just for the sake of it? In your personal opinion, what certifications are the most attractive to consumers (obviously anything with microsoft in it immediately jumps out at consumers..) and to local business'?

Obviously as professionals we would like to accumulate as many certifications as possible, but in what order would you suggest considering our/my situation?

Any opinion or advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Martin.

2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester