Starting A Career in IT

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Batesi, May 20, 2012.

1. Batesi

Batesi New Member

Hello helpful people,

So im new to the forum.... :)

What im here for is information from you people who have a clear understanding and background of what is required - as i simply dont.

I'm a 21 year old man and i have had many different jobs in different sectors.... I've been a chef for Twickenham Rugby Stadium as well as cooking in the Royal Room for celebrities at wimbledon, I've been a construction worker underpinning footings, I have worked at a Plant Hire company as a Administrator and I am currently working at a Watermains company where i arrange work and manage our teams.

Now you have a background I'll explain to you what im asking.

When i was in school so 5 years ago i studied the Cisco CompTIA A+ course and easily enough i completed that... i then continued onto the next course.. possibly the CCENT but in all honest im not going to lie i was completed lazy and just like anyone back in school i really didnt care about anything but getting home from school and playing computer games and seeing girls, so therefore i failed by 2 odd % and i couldnt be arsed to re do the year.

I've currently been in my job for only around 6 months but im already seeing that i am going nowhere and this really isnt the job i want to pursue for the rest of my life!

I've always enjoyed working with computers whether thats a hands on approach or generic problem solving.

I now have a family of my own and i realise in need to get my act together and actually do something with my career that im going to enjoy as well as earn enough money to provide for my own.

I'd like to know where i can go from here to study? what courses? and what job roles are available? I have no background to the price of certain courses... although i couldnt really afford anything over £2000.

I really do appreciate all the help that is available.

Thank you

2. Notes_Bloke