SQL 70-228 For begginer

Discussion in 'SQL Exams' started by Luddym, Dec 21, 2005.

1. Luddym

Luddym Megabyte Poster

Hi people,

Im currently studying for my MCSA/E and was having trouble finding an elective. I saw the 70-228 for SQL and thought it would be an interesting challenge.

However, reading some posts and some other websites, it sounds like this may be a little daunting.

About ten years ago I studied Databases with A-Level computing, packages such as Foxpro, and MS Access. I have a little grounding, but obviously nothing up to date, and nothing as far as servers are concerned.

Am I getting myself in too deep with this one?

Any advice would be much appreciated guys, and gals.

Many thanks In Advance.

Certifications: VCP,A+, N+, MCSA, MCSE
    WIP: Christmas Drunkard
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

It really depends on how much hands on you are able to get with SQL.

SQL is a hard topic if you have no hands on experience with it, and not something you can simply read up on.

I spent a good few months reading up and playing with SQL databases once but ended up giving up because I simply couldn't get enough hands on with it, and struggled to grasp the SQL language.

If this is an elective that you really want to do, but don't have any prior dealings with it I'd recommend trying to do a hands on course with a training provider.

8)

3. Luddym

Luddym Megabyte Poster

Excellent, thanks for the reply simon.

I think i will go ahead for it, but will try and lay my hands on a copy of SQL server and some learnkey or CBT nuggets too.

Thanks again.

4. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Luddy,

I would appreciate any feedback on SQL stuff. If you don't mind PM'ing me when you do as this thread will probably be gone............

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  5. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member