Sorry, i think this...

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Boycie, May 31, 2005.

1. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

I think this has already be brought up If I could only remember where :oops:

Anyhow, I hope to get Network+ certified soon and then wish to go down the MCSE road. :D

My question is for someone in my position (never worked as an IT professional) should I take the 2000 or 2003 route?
    I seem to remember someone (rightly or wrongly) saying 2003 is really an upgrade rather than an outright course.
    I have also noticed some providers still advertise the MCSE with 2000.

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  2. Makaveli

Makaveli Byte Poster

Im by no means an expert, but whilst browsing through the forums I think the experts would recommend taking the 2000 course as alot on employers still use 2000 and once you have achieved 2000 it only takes 2 additional exams to become 2003 certified!

Experts feel free to correct me if im wrong......

3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Thanks,

As you say, a lot of companies are still using 2K

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  4. AJ

AJ 01000001 01100100 01101101 01101001 01101110 Administrator

As far as I'm aware, the only difference between the 2 MCSE's is the different bit of the operating systems that W2K dosn't have/use. i think that the design exams have just been updated but are much the same.

Again I stand to be corrected by those who know better.

Certifications: MCSE, MCSA (messaging), ITIL Foundation v3
    WIP: Breathing in and out, but not out and in, that's just wrong
  5. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I guess you would have to look at how mant businesses still use 2000. Anyone running 2000 wouldn't necessarily jumped at upgrading to 2003, so they must still be out there.