Some advice please CCNA?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Muso, Jul 6, 2008.

1. Muso

Muso Bit Poster

Hey guys

I've been using the forum on an off. Basically I have a degree in comp sci and have done self study to pass both the A+ and the N+. Anyway I'm now working in telecomms voip stuff, whilst this is quite interesting I am wanting to be more proficient in networking as all the kit is Cisco, so basically I'm thinking about the CCNA. How tough is the CCNA in comparison to the A+, N+? I have very little knowledge about this kind of thing, I mean do I need lots of physical hands on experience for this? My thinking is telecomms is ok but if you know the networking stuff you will be alot more valuable, and I already know a bit so why not?

Any information regarding the CCNA would be great, or even if you can just point me to some web sites. I'm pretty keen on not paying lots of money and going on a course, I'd rather self study if possible.

Cheers

2. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Well done and congrats on passing the A+ and N+ certs. In reference to the CCNA I recommend you get the Cisco press book by Wendoll and if possible a cisco switch and router from EBay on the cheap to get hands on practice.

There is also a useful booklet by cisco on the commands used when configuring a router or switch etc which would also come in handed. Lastly, there is also the Bosom NetSim that is very commendable too:)

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

The CCNA is *much* tougher than the A+ and Network+.

I'd recommend that you get hands-on experience before pursuing it... you'll be expected to be very familiar with the command-line IOS.