Some advice needed please

Discussion in 'A+' started by ddave, Dec 25, 2006.

1. ddave

ddave New Member

Hello and happy xmas .

I have been studying the A+ for a few months now and i think im doing OK .

I do struggle though on o/s systems that i dont have access to - its ok doing the theory but you cant beat actually using different o/s's to find out how they work .

So i have been looking at a way round this problem and have been looking at VM's ( the one i was looking at is parallels workshop V2.2 ) Could someone please help me with some basic advice on virtual machines - i have never used them so it is all a little confusing to me - i have looked on the virtual computing forum but it is all new to me so its not sinking in on how to use a VM .

Thanks - dave

Certifications: ECDL A+
    WIP: 70-270 MCSE sec +
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

A VM application simply enables you to create a "computer inside of a computer". It takes a section of hard drive space and uses it as if it were in it's own computer. You simply tell the VM how much drive space to use, how much memory to "borrow" from the host OS, and how much of the CPU to use. The VM app will create a blank, formatted "computer" that you can use in a VM window. The VM will look just like what you would see if you had formatted a hard disk on a "real" computer.

A VM application won't magically give you access to those OSes that you don't have access to. You still have to install the OS on the VM, just as if you were installing the OS on a "real" computer.

I've never used Parallels Workshop. Most of us use VMWare or Virtual PC.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. ddave

ddave New Member